Book Blogging

BOOK REVIEW: Amelia Fang and the Barbaric Ball

AmeliaFang-1.JPG

Meet Amelia Fang – Nocturnia’s friendliest vampire, who loves hanging out with her three best friends; Florence a loud yet friendly rare breed of yeti, Grimaldi the nervous son of the Grim Reaper, and Squashy, her excitable pet pumpkin. But when spoilt and mean Prince Tangine starts at their school, he starts making life miserable for the trio, resulting in Squashy being kidnapped! Will Amelia be able to get him back?

This book was really good fun! Full of quirky illustrations reminiscent of Tim Burton’s early works, Laura Ellen Anderson has created a wonderful little world full of vampires, ghouls and many other creatures of the dark, who are surprisingly terrified of fairies, unicorns, and even…GLITTER! Amelia is a fun yet sometimes grumpy little girl, but has her heart in the right place when it comes to her friends. The cast of characters are great (Florence is amazing and definitely NOT A BEAST), and it’s a perfect seasonal read if you’re a lover of vampires and other ghastly beings. The creativity within the pages is absolutely awesome, and you’ll find yourself giggling at references like ‘The Great Gothic Gravestone Carve Off’ and the brilliant sayings from the characters (“Ooh, my fearsome little fart” was my favourite).

This is a great book for young readers, but it’s such good fun that I hope the slightly older reader will want to pick it up too! Perfect for fans of Witch Wars and Isadora Moon, Amelia Fang will be a brilliant companion for October – even better for a Halloween read!

Final thoughts: A fangtastic book to sink your teeth into! 4/5

 

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s